Happy Blogging Birthday to Me

 It was five years ago tonight that I first sat at a computer screen and typed my thoughts for the world to see. Over the year many sites have hosted the evolution that is me.

I started my blogging journey on Xanga. My site Simply Hollie was the beginnings for me. It was there that I stayed for a bit. It was there that I first had to write about the fire that would change my life.

Then I moved my blog to MSN and took back an old MSN forum name I have used for many years on line: that being Celestialmom. I blogged here for a long time as well. It is here that I first blog about Roo’s diagnosis of being a special needs child.

Then when MSN was going through a period where my site was more down then up, I moved to blogspot again as Simply Hollie…while there I began Cheaper then Cheap as well( but it was only a few month old when I came here) and am now combining all that I am and ever will be.

In the last 5 years I have come to know and visit many bloggers  some stayed on my radar and others faded. You know us bloggers have a life outside our computers right? I have favorite reads that I must go to…girlfriends that I have known only through what they have typed to me over the years. Catholic Mom, Lynne, Beast Mom, SAMM, Jungle Mama, Katy, AM, Holy, Thotman are all old friends with many exchanges between us. AM moved from the blog world and has become one of my closest girlfriend’s…but we started our friendship online. It is her parent’s that took me in for a year after the fire.

I love the interactions that come from being part of the blog community and so I will make that what I am thankful for today this my blogger birthday! For those of you who have read me over the years thanks for letting me ramble-may you of taken away a piece of me. I want to thank you for stopping by, for sitting and reading a bit, for sharing and for caring.

No Christmas tip today I have a blog birthday party to get too! Happy Birthday to me!

8 responses to “Happy Blogging Birthday to Me

  1. What a milestone! Happy blogging birthday to you, Hollie. It’s been an amazing experience for me too over the years, albeit a slightly shorter timeframe, but well worth it. We should all celebrate our blogging b-days… now when exactly did I start again? Oh yeah, during the tumultuous first year working for the Sisters. And I wouldn’t be where I am today without that MSN blog. No doubt about it.

    CHEERS to many more!

  2. Five years? Shut.Up. That’s impressive.

    I guess I’ve been blogging two years – time flies when you’re having fun.

    Happy birthday to you!

  3. Oops – that was me…it didn’t remember me because I switched computers!

  4. Hi Hollie!

    I am happy to announce that you are the winner of the handmade journal! Congratulations! Please email me your postal address and I will get it out to you ASAP! It may take me a bit but I will announce all the winners on my site soon!

    Caryn (jasonncaryn [at] yahoo [dot] com)
    http://jasonncaryn.blogspot.com

  5. hey nice place you have here… Ill have to update my links …reset my GPS so I dont get lost on my trip over here to visit…

  6. Hollie
    You sure do move around.
    Happy Blogging Birthday!!!!!

    If you are interested check out my personal website http://www.ShanasPlace.com

  7. Hollie,
    I didn’t realize you’d been blogging that long! Very cool. You’re like an old-timer in blogland then. 😉

    I agree that blogland is full of good people, people who have become friends, even if not face-to-face. 😉

    I also relate to your journey of revelations – that which you’ve chosen to “tell” the public. I too have a list like that – how and when I’ve made myself more known to others – the risk that can be. It’s been a good journey so far and hopefully we will all say that for a long time.

    Your fellow bloggy friend,
    bm

  8. 5 years!?!? Wow, very, very impressive! Happy bloggy anniversary!

Leave a Reply

