New or Used that is the Question

I have been thinking about this especially when it comes to how I shop. Are there certain things that I have to buy new or can I get away and enjoy used just as much? There are certain things that I buy that have to be a certain brand even but when it comes to these goods I think it is because I am a smart or should I say wise consumer. Now most of what I buy is used.

When it comes to clothing I buy used mostly. I love the feel of a pair of well worn jeans. Now who really likes to break in a new pair? I went shopping this week at Value Village and used one of the $35 GCs that I won last week at stocked up on a few wants: one was a beautiful silk red blouse($4.99) that will look great over my basic black dress( also a VV find for $7) for the holidays. I love finds like this and I cant tell you how many compliments I have gotten for my brown leather bag that I got for $3.99. Yes I know by buying clothes second hand you have to bring them home and wash immediately etc etc and you don’t have the latest trendy items but I am a vintage classic gal, so it works well for me.

When it comes to furniture I buy used and you can always find great deals either at Kijiji or Craigslist. There is not a NEW piece in my apartment. Now this means my apartment is a hodge podge but that again is ok with me but I guess if you are trying to achive a certain look then you might buy new. As for colors in my apartment. I use throws and pillows to bring things together.

When it comes to electronics unless it has been gifted to me( ie my current tv I buy new). My computer was a great deal when I bought it two years ago ( for $349). I got the last one Staples had when they were clearing out stock for me it has more then served me well. My MP3 player was a gift with a purchase I made.

For my music needs I don’t buy CDs anymore if there is a song I like I can usually get it for free? How I enter and win enough downloads from contests through the year. I have not paid for music in over a year-Thanks Rip to Win and the other contests that have netted me 56 downloads in the last 6 months. If you like music don’t buy CDs download them it is so much cheaper!

Now if my location ever changed( living in the heart of Toronto allows me to be a walker and TTC user) and I had to buy a car I would buy used. A car loses much of its value as you drive off the lot.

When it comes to groceries this is where I skimp alot without losing quality. Dominion here has the fresh or free policy which nets me about $30 a month in free quality groceries simply by checking expiry dates. I also coupon collect. Save.ca is great for coupons and then there are the  that line the stores. There are certain foods where the store brand simply will not do. We buy real Kraft dinner and Campbells soups only. They are the main stays of our lunches. Now for cookies I bake or go to the factory for them. I spend about $200 a month for the both of us and that includes cleaning and bathroom stuff too.

Now when it comes to toys here is where you have to be careful. Our kids come first right! I buy new mostly–mostly at Walmart or Toys R US when on sale. We have bought some toys second hand ( like Roo’s kitchen), a barbie dollhouse, and  the like. We have bought games second hand at garage sales after checking for pieces. As for books we love second hand and make great use of the library.

So does my use of second hand make me cheaper then cheap? I think it makes me a great consumer and smart shopper.

One response to “New or Used that is the Question

  1. Pingback: Buy Used A Car | Cars Blog | Everything You should Know about Cars

Leave a Reply

